Faculty Research Grants

Application Guidelines Cover Page, Budget & Checklist (Word doc) Final Report Template Faculty Research Grant Calendar

2022-2023 FRG Application Deadlines

  • Fall Semester - October 4, 2022
  • Spring Semester - March 2, 2023

Electronically submit the completed, fully signed application to Julie Joerg at julie.joerg@mnsu.edu, Office of the Associate Vice President for Research and Dean of Extended Campus.

The purpose of a Faculty Research Grant (FRG) at Minnesota State University, Mankato is to encourage excellence in research, scholarship, and creative activities among faculty. These seed grants support faculty initiatives in all disciplines including basic, applied, and pedagogical research as well as creative projects. New researchers are especially encouraged to apply. It is expected that the results of the FRG will be used by grantees to explore external funding opportunities to continue their work. Evidence of a grant or contract submission for external funding will be required before the applicant can submit a follow-up FRG.

Faculty members are required to describe plans for pursuing and securing external funding using their FRG-funded research or creative projects and must demonstrate substantial progress towards this plan upon submission of their FRG Final Report.

Applicants are encouraged to contact the appropriate College representative for guidance on FRG proposal development (see the "Faculty Research Committee" table below).

Announcement  purple Icon.png

Attend a Faculty Research Grant Workshop and learn more!

Next workshop: Tuesday, September 13, 2022 - 10am (CSU256)

Presented by the Office of Research & Sponsored Programs

To register, please send an email to Jeane McGraw, jeane.mcgraw@mnsu.edu.
minimum of 5 attendees is required for the workshop

Information on the guidelines, format, budget, and sections of an FRG.

Faculty Research Committee Academic Year 2022-2023

College Name Phone Email
Allied Health & Nursing Nancy Fitzsimons 507-389-1287 nancy.fitzsimons@mnsu.edu
Humanities & Social Sciences Joshua Preiss

507-389-5514

joshua.preiss@mnsu.edu
Business Joseph Westlin 507-389-5093 Joseph.westlin@mnsu.edu
Education Jason Kaufman 952-818-8877 jason.kaufman@mnsu.edu
Library Services Heidi Southworth (co-chair)

507-389-5066

heidi.southworth@mnsu.edu
Science, Engineering, & Technology Rachel Cohen (Fall Semester) 507-389-1256  rachel.cohen@mnsu.edu
Science, Engineering, & Technology Allison Land (Spring Semester) 507-389-1349 allison.land@mnsu.edu
Humanities & Social Sciences Shawna Petersen-Brown 507-389-1353 shawna.petersen-brown@mnsu.edu
Administration Name Phone Email
Academic Affairs Laura Yin 507-389-5998 hongxia.yin@mnsu.edu
Academic Affairs Christopher Corley 507-389-5953 christopher.corley@mnsu.edu
Administrator Teri Wallace 507-389-5381 teresa.wallace@mnsu.edu
Research and Sponsored Programs Kristel Seth 507-389-6652 kristel.seth@mnsu.edu
Center for Excellence in Scholarship and Research Dan Houlihan 507-389-6308 daniel.houlihan@mnsu.edu
Support Staff Department Phone Email
Kristel Seth Research and Sponsored Programs 507-389-6652 kristel.seth@mnsu.edu
Jeane McGraw Research and Sponsored Programs 507-389-5275 jeane.mcgraw@mnsu.edu
Julie Joerg Graduate Dean's Office 507-389-1242 julie.joerg@mnsu.edu

Meeting Dates 2022/2023

Fall Meeting Dates

Time Location
TBD    
     
     
     
Spring Meeting Dates    
TBD