Faculty Spotlights

Course-based Undergraduate Research Experience (CURE) Fellowships

Since 2023, the URC has supported the development and implementation of Course-based Undergraduate Research Experiences (CUREs) as a means to broaden participation of students in research, scholarly, and creative activities. CURE Fellows are expected to implement a CURE in a course, as well as provide a presentation describing their work. A full list of CURE Fellows can be found below, along with several recordings of these presentations. 

2022-2023 CURE Fellows
2023-2024 CURE Fellows 

Outstanding Research Mentor Award Recipients 

Each year, the URC awards the Outstanding Research Mentor Award to a faculty or staff mentor who shows exemplary dedication to undergraduate research, scholarly, and creative activities. Recipients are nominated by student researchers and selected based on their demonstrated commitment to undergraduate research and outstanding mentorship. In addition, each winner is invited to provide the keynote address at the following year's Undergraduate Research Symposium. A list of recent recipients, as well as their keynote addresses, can be found below. 

2014: Dr. Moses Langley (Psychology)
2015: Dr. Megan Mahowald (Speech, Hearing, and Rehabilitative Services)
2016: Dr. Michael Bentley (Biological Sciences)
2017: Dr. Emily Stark (Psychology)
2018: Wade Davis (Business Law)
2019: Dr. Jessica Albers (Human Performance)
2021: Dr. Samantha Katner (Biochemistry, Chemistry, and Geology)
2023: Dr. Analía Dall'Asen (Physics and Astronomy)