Faculty Research Grants

Application Guidelines Cover Page, Budget & Checklist (Word doc) Final Report Template

2020-2021 FRG Application Deadlines

Fall: Tuesday, Oct. 6, 2020 - 4:30 p.m.  Spring: Thursday, March 4, 2021 - 4:30 p.m.

Electronically submit the completed, fully signed application to Julie Joerg at julie.joerg@mnsu.edu, Office of the Associate Vice President for Research and Dean of Extended Campus.

The purpose of a Faculty Research Grant (FRG) at Minnesota State University, Mankato is to encourage excellence in research, scholarship, and creative activities among  faculty. These seed grants support faculty initiatives in all disciplines including basic, applied, and pedagogical research as well as creative projects. New researchers are especially encouraged to apply. It is expected that the results of the FRG will be used by grantees to explore external funding opportunities to continue their work. Evidence of a grant or contract submission for external funding will be required before the applicant can submit a follow-up FRG.

Faculty members are required to describe plans for pursuing and securing external funding using their FRG-funded research or creative projects and must demonstrate substantial progress towards this plan upon submission of their FRG Final Report.

Applicants are encouraged to contact the appropriate College representative for guidance on FRG proposal development (see the "Faculty Research Committee" table below).

Announcement  purple Icon.pngAttend a Faculty Research Grant Workshop and learn more!

Presented by the Office of Research & Sponsored Programs
                     Next workshop:  Spring 2021

Learn more about FRG guidelines and review application materials. To register email Jeane McGraw, jeane.mcgraw@mnsu.edu.  (minimum of 5 attendees is required for the workshop). 

 Information on the guidelines, format, budget, and sections of an FRG.


Faculty Research Committee Academic Year 2020-2021

Allied Health & Nursing Tammy Neiman (507) 389-6315 tammy.neiman@mnsu.edu
Arts & Humanities Sachi Sekimoto

(507) 389-1270

Business Christine Brown Mahoney (507) 389-1338 christine.mahoney@mnsu.edu
Education Rick Auger (507) 389-5658 richard.auger@mnsu.edu
Library Services Mark McCullough

(507) 389-5154

Science, Engineering, & Technology Allison Land (507) 389-1349 allison.land@mnsu.edu
Social & Behavioral Sciences Karla Lassonde (Co-Chair) (507) 389-5827 karla.lassonde@mnsu.edu
Academic Affairs Kris Retherford (507) 389-6315 kristine.retherford@mnsu.edu
Academic Affairs Laura Yin (507) 389-5998 hongxia.yin@mnsu.edu
Administrator Teri Wallace Co-chair (507) 389-5381 teresa.wallace@mnsu.edu
Research and Sponsored Programs Kristel Seth (507) 389-6652 kristel.seth@mnsu.edu
Center for Excellence in Scholarship and Research Dan Houlihan (507) 389-6308 daniel.houlihan@mnsu.edu
Kristel Seth Research and Sponsored Programs (507) 389-6652 kristel.seth@mnsu.edu
Jeane McGraw Research and Sponsored Programs (507) 389-5275 jeane.mcgraw@mnsu.edu
Julie Joerg Graduate Dean's Office (507) 389-1242 julie.joerg@mnsu.edu

Meeting Dates

Thursday, September 10, 2020 1:00-3:00 p.m. Zoom
Thursday, October 15, 2020 1:00 - 3:00 p.m. Zoom
Thursday, November 12, 2020 1:00 - 3:00 p.m. Zoom
Thursday, December 10, 2020 1:00 - 3:00 p.m. Zoom